WhatsApp has extended the limit to delete messages for everyone from 8 minutes and 16 seconds to 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds. WhatsApp has also silently added the ‘Block revoke request’ feature. This feature will stop users from exploiting the ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature through modified versions of the app.
Many users complained the short deadline for when a user can apply the ‘Delete for everyone’ feature. When a WhatsApp message is deleted, the recipient (s) receives a prompt message in its place – “This message has been deleted”.
As WhatsApp messages are received in Notifications, some apps were able to track these deleted messages. Many were opting for modified and unauthorized Android versions of WhatsApp. Users were able to delete any message for everyone as old as 3 years ago.
The extension of the time limit will be visible in the recent iOS and Windows Phone updates. The recent beta version 2.18.69 for Android will also have this extended time limit.
The “Block Revoke Request” works in the following way:
- The user sends a WhatsApp message to a recipient in a private chat or for everyone in a group.
- The user then deletes the message for everyone.
- WhatsApp sends a new message to the recipient(s).
- WhatsApp finds a message in the database having the same ID of the message that the user wants to revoke.
- WhatsApp then checks the date of the message saved in the database.
- WhatsApp deletes the message if the current date is less than 24 hours of the date of the saved message.
This new algorithm ensures that no one can misuse the delete message option.
WhatsApp has decided to choose to 24 hours as the time reference so that there is ample time for the recipient(s), to receive the revoke request. This is for the case when the recipient’s phone is turned off at the moment.
But if the recipient’s phone is turned off for more than 24 hours, the revoke gets invalidated and the message does not get deleted.